Russia is the new world champion, after the completion of the 12th World Women’s Volleyball Championship in Volos.

They beat 17-16 in the penalty (9-9 regular time) Greece, in a shocking Final which was attended by more than 3,000 fans in an impressive atmosphere.

They won their second gold medal after 2009 (Mansiysk) and their fifth (3 bronze) in a similar event.

For Greece, this was the 3rd medal, after the gold in 1997 (Prague) and bronze in 2013 again in Volos.

On the third stage of the podium, The Netherlands defeated Spain 9-6, finalists in the two previous competitions (2013, 2015).

For the 5th place, the US imposed 4-2 Hungary and for 7th, Italy 7-4 of Canada.

Final ranking

  1. Russia
  2. Greece
  3. The Netherlands
  4. Spain
  5. USA
  6. Hungary
  7. Italy
  8. Canada
  9. China
  10. Australia
  11. New Zealand
  12. Serbia
  13. Japan
  14. Slovakia
  15. South Africa
  16. Croatia

Elena XENAKI (GREECE), the top scorer with 22 goals, was the most valuable player (MVP), while Evgenia GOLOVINA (Russia) was the best goalkeeper.

For details on all games, click HERE